Twitter develops feature to remove users

Twitter develops feature to remove users

Anyone who is on social media often comes across a user who makes unreasonable comments or is constantly spamming. To prevent a user from needing to block a more annoying contact, Twitter has extended the "soft block" feature to everyone, which allows you to remove them without having to take more drastic measures. Twitter had already announced that this feature would be rolled out in September for a select group of people, but now it has reached all users.

Blocked users will not be notified and the process is quite simple, you just need to go to "Followers", and choose the one you want to block, then you must press the three dots and choose the option "Remove this follower".

Through a "soft block", those who were blocked can still see the tweets and send direct messages, however, they will not have access to the tweets in the feed. This way, when you remove a follower, they can follow you again, if they want.

Twitter develops feature to remove users

Similar features already exist on other social networks, including Instagram, which allows you to restrict certain content. Over the years, Instagram has introduced features such as Close Friends and Hide Story for a particular account, in order to prevent certain people from seeing your activity.

Recently, Twitter is also testing a new feature called "Safe Mode", in which the social network detects potentially abusive or spamming accounts and prevents them from participating in Twitter conversations by blocking them. The automatic blocks last an average of 7 days and do not interfere with the people a user follows or interacts with regularly. The blocking is done automatically by Twitter, and all accounts that "engage in abusive behavior or spam" are targeted for blocking. With this, the user does not need to block a follower manually.

Source: The Verge